You face a DUI conviction in California if your blood alcohol content is measured lower than the legal limit of 0.08%. Under California Vehicle Code section 23152a it is illegal for you to drive while you are under the influence of any alcohol and/or drug. California Vehicle Code section 23152 does not explicitly state that you need to have a blood alcohol content that is above 0.08%. However, it is more likely that you will face criminal charges for driving under the influence if you had a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher.
Consequences of Driving Under The Influence
You are considered to be driving under the influence if your mental or physical state is impaired by drugs and/or alcohol and you cannot drive a vehicle with the same ordinary care that a sober person would use under the circumstances.
If you are charged with your first DUI you face the possibility of imprisonment in county jail from 96 hours to six months, and a fine that will total close to $2,000 including all court assessments. In addition, your license and driving privileges may be suspended from four to six months. If you are subsequently charged with another DUI, the charges only increase.
Speak To A California DUI Lawyer Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI it is important that you contact an experienced and knowledgeable DUI defense attorney to help ensure you do not lose your driving privileges or serve jail time. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 30 years of experience successfully defending clients who have been charged with a DUI and are aware of the defenses that you have available to you if you have been charged with a DUI. We have offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville and West Covina. Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will be there when you call.