Under California Penal Code section 23152, the punishment for a first time DUI is 96 hours to 6 months in a county jail. You can also be fined $390 to $1,000.
Your driver’s license will also be suspended for six months. Alternatively, the court could choose to impose probation.
The terms of your probation will vary depending on your blood alcohol level at the time of your conviction. Some common terms of probation include:
- A three to five year probation
- You cannot drive a vehicle after drinking alcohol
- You cannot drive a motor vehicle without a valid license
- You cannot violate any other law
- Pay a fine from $390 to $1,000, which comes to a total of almost $2,000
- Enrollment and completion of a driving-under-the-influence program
If you violate the terms of your probation, the judge can revoke your probation and impose a jail sentence.
California DUI Penalties
The penalties for a DUI are severe, making it essential that you have an experienced DUI attorney to represent you. You need a highly skilled DUI lawyer from Wallin & Klarich if you are going to be able to win your case or minimize your punishment.
DUIs are actively prosecuted and the punishment if convicted will negatively affect your life. If you have been charged with a DUI, you need a competent defense lawyer you can rely on during this stressful time
Contact Our California DUI Defense Attorneys
The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been successfully defending clients charged with a DUI for over thirty years. We understand that criminal proceedings can be confusing and we want to help.
We will take the time to respond to your questions and lessen your worries. Call us today to speak to an experienced DUI attorney at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will get through this together.