If a person is convicted of driving on a suspended license, and the suspended license resulted from a driving under the influence offense, the person will be required to install an interlock device on their vehicle for up to three years.
In California, driving under the influence is codified under California Vehicle Section 23152. This code section states that a person is guilty of driving under the influence if they have drugs and/or alcohol in their system, or if they have a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater.
If you are convicted for knowingly driving on a suspended or revoked California driver’s license due to a driving under the influence conviction under California Vehicle Code Section 14601.2, the Department Of Motor Vehicles will require the driver to install an interlock devise on their vehicle for up to three years.
An ignition interlock device is a mechanism is like a breathalyzer, installed to a motor vehicle’s dashboard. Before the vehicle’s motor can be started, the driver first must exhale into the device; if the resultant breath-alcohol concentration analyzed result is greater than the programmed blood alcohol concentration – usually 0.02% or 0.04% – the device prevents the engine from being started.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, it is imperative that you hire an aggressive, experienced Orange County DUI attorney like the ones a Wallin and Klarich. Hiring an experienced criminal defense law firm can greatly increase your chances of keeping your freedom. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been helping people for over 30 years.
Please feel free to contact Wallin & Klarich to discuss your case. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 877-466-5245 for more information.