New Law Requires DUI Offenders to Install Ignition Interlock Device
In 2010, a few select counties in California began testing a program where first-time DUI offenders were required to install Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) on their vehicles or risk losing their license. A study of that program conducted by the California Department of Motor Vehicles revealed that offenders were 74 percent less likely to get a second DUI after installing an IID.
“Ignition interlock devices are a game-changer in the fight to stop the revolving door of repeat offenders,” Mary Klotzbach, a Mothers Against Drunk Driving representative, said.
Due to the success of that program, a new California law was introduced under Senate Bill 1046. The law was signed by Governor Jerry Brown in 2016 and it took effect on January 1, 2019.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device? (IID)
To understand this new California law, you need to know what an Ignition Interlock Device is. It is essentially a breath testing device that attaches to your vehicle. Before you can start your car, you must blow into the device to test your blood-alcohol content (BAC) level. If your BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08 percent, your vehicle will start. If your BAC is 0.08 percent or above, the IID will not allow you to start your vehicle.
Ignition Interlock Devices for DUI Offenders (SB 1046)
Under this new law, most DUI offenders will be required to install an IID on their vehicles. The amount of time you will be required to keep the IID installed depends upon the circumstances of your case:
- First-time DUI – six month IID requirement
- Second DUI within 10 years – one year IID requirement
- Third DUI within 10 years – two year IID requirement
- Subsequent DUI within 10 years – three year IID requirement
The law makes it clear that the DUI offender will be the person who pays to have the IID installed. If you refuse to install an IID on your vehicle, your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked for one year or longer.
The IID law will remain effective at least until January 21, 2026.
Installing an IID on your car could be expensive and having your driving privileges suspended could negatively impact your life. That is why you should contact an experienced DUI defense attorney at Wallin & Klarich if you or someone you know has been charged with DUI.
Contact a DUI Defense Attorney at Wallin & Klarich Today
If you or a loved one has been accused of DUI, it is important to speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately. At Wallin & Klarich, our skilled attorneys have been successfully defending clients facing DUI charges for more than 35 years. Let us help you now.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, Los Angeles and San Diego, you can find an experienced Wallin & Klarich DUI defense attorney available near you no matter where you work or live.
Call our office today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.