Consequences of a Underage DUI Charge (CVC 23152)
Driving under the influence of alcohol in California is a serious offense which leads to a severe punishment. The laws in California are extremely tough on minors found under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving. If you are facing underage DUI charges, you should contact an experienced DUI Defense Attorney right away for help.
Driving under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI)
California practices the ‘zero tolerance’ policy for underage drinking and driving. This means that no one under the age of 21 may be found driving with a measureable amount of alcohol in their system. One of the crucial factors considered in determining a DUI charge is your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) level at the time of arrest. You can be charged with a DUI under three categories, depending on your BAC level.
If your BAC level is found to be:
- Greater than 0.01 percent, you could be charged under section 23136 of California Vehicle Code
- Greater than 0.05 percent, you could be charged under section 23140 of California Vehicle Code
- Greater than 0.08 percent, you could be charged under section 23152 of California Vehicle Code
Punishment for DUI and losing your driving privilege
- If you are convicted of a DUI with a BAC level of more than 0.01 percent and less than 0.05 percent, you will be punished by a one-year suspension of your driver’s license.
- If the BAC ranges from 0.05 percent to less than 0.08 percent, apart from the suspended driver’s license you could be liable for fines as mentioned below:
- A penalty of $100 for your first conviction;
- A penalty of $200 for your second conviction within a period of one year; and
- A penalty of $300 for your third conviction within one year.
- Regardless of your age, if your BAC level is found to be 0.08 percent or more, you could be charged with a misdemeanor (California Vehicle Code section 23152), which could lead to imprisonment in county jail for up to 6 months and a fine of up to $1,000. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for one year.
Recovering your lost ‘driving privilege’
Your driver’s license will be returned to you at the end of your suspension period after you pay a $100 re-issue fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Along with the fee, you will also be required to file a proof of financial responsibility with the DMV before your driver’s license will be returned to you.
California DUI Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI in California, you need an experienced California DUI defense attorney to represent you. The DUI defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have experience successfully defending clients who have been arrested for a DUI for over 30 years. Our attorneys approach each case with the utmost care. We have offices located in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, and Sherman Oaks. Call us today for a free phone consultation at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will be there when you call.