In California, a person caught driving with more than .08 percent blood alcohol will have their license suspended. Typically the Department of Motor Vehicles will issue a suspension of four months on a first time offense. In addition to a license suspension, most offenders can expect to be placed on probation.
As of 2009, California law creates new authority for the Department of Motor Vehicles to suspend driving privileges if the driver is on probation for a DUI offense, and found with any level of alcohol in their system. Under previous law, a suspension would only occur if the person was convicted of a second DUI. This new law means that a person’s blood alcohol content can be as low as 0.01% and you can still lose your license. This penalty also applies if the probationer refuses to submit to a breath test.
Hiring an experienced criminal defense law firm can greatly increase your chances of keeping your license. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been helping people keep their license for over 30 years.
Please feel free to contact the skilled California DUI defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich to discuss your case. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (877) 466-5245 for more information.