Who Has to Take DUI Classes?
When you are convicted of driving under the influence in California, the court or the DMV may order you to complete a program that provides alcohol and drug education and counseling. These DUI classes are intended to prevent repeat DUI offenses and provide participants with an opportunity for education and rehabilitation. There are a few types of programs for different DUI offenses:
- Wet reckless programs: These programs require those convicted of reckless driving with a measurable amount of alcohol in their blood to complete 12 hours of a DUI education class.
- First offender programs: These programs require those convicted of a first DUI offense to complete a state-licensed 3-month, 30-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program. Those convicted of a first DUI offense with a blood alcohol content of 0.20 or higher must complete a 9-month, 60-hour program instead.
- Second and subsequent offender programs: These programs require those convicted of a second or subsequent DUI offense to complete an 18-month multiple offender program with 52 hours of group counseling, 12 hours of alcohol and drug education, 6 hours of community reentry monitoring, and biweekly individual interviews during the first 12 months.
- Third and subsequent offender programs: In some cases, a court may order those convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense to complete a 30-month program with 78 hours of group counseling, 12 hours of alcohol and drug education, 120-300 hours of community service, and regular individual interviews.
How Do I Enroll?
To enroll in a DUI program, you must be referred by either the court or the DMV. You must enroll within 21 days of sentencing. The DUI program service provider must be licensed by the state of California. These licensed providers only hold in-person classes, meaning online DUI classes do not satisfy California court requirements. The costs of these programs may vary depending on the location, provider, and length of your program. They can range from under $300 for 12-hour programs to upwards of $3,000 for 30-month programs.
How Do I Get to Class?
If your license is suspended, it may be difficult for you to get to your DUI class. In some cases, the court may allow first-time offenders to obtain a restricted license that will allow driving to and from work and DUI classes. A restricted license requires the holder to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in the car. An IID serves as a mini breath test that prevents your car from moving unless you provide an alcohol-free breath sample. In order to be eligible, you must not have refused a DUI breath or blood test.
What Happens Once I Complete the Class?
The DUI program is a term of your probation, and the judge will order you to complete the program by a certain date. After you have successfully completed the program, your service provider will give you a certificate of completion for the court and the DMV.
On the other hand, if you fail to meet the requirements of your DUI class, you will violate the terms of your probation. Therefore, you cannot continue to drive even if you were granted a restricted license. In addition, the judge may issue a bench warrant for your arrest. Following your arrest, you will face a probation violation hearing, where you may be subject to an additional jail sentence.
Contact Wallin & Klarich Today
California has strict laws and penalties for driving under the influence, and the best way to avoid paying for expensive DUI classes is to have an excellent defense attorney. If you are arrested for DUI, contact Wallin & Klarich as soon as possible to see how we can help. With 40+ years of experience, Wallin & Klarich is your best choice amongst Southern California criminal defense firms. Our attorneys have helped thousands of clients defend against DUIs, and we have the skills and resources to help you avoid hefty fines and jail sentences.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, Torrance, West Covina, Los Angeles, and San Diego, you are sure to find an available and convenient attorney near you. Discover how our team can assist you. Contact us today, toll-free at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free consultation with a skilled defense attorney.