Charged With Gross Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated In San Diego
February 14, 2011

In California, under Penal Codes section 191.5 the crime of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is a felony offense that involves drunk driving resulting in the unlawful killing of a human being. There is no requirement that the act must be done with premeditation or malice aforethought. Rather, what is required is to show that the accused was acting with gross negligent at the time when the crime was committed. Grossly negligent actions are so reckless that they create a high risk of death or great bodily injury, and it deviates drastically from how a reasonable person would act in the same situation.

Gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for 4, 6, or 10 years. A person, who has been convicted of prior gross vehicular manslaughter or at least 2 prior DUI convictions, may face a prison sentence of 15 years to life. A conviction will also result in the immediate revocation of the person’s driver’s license. Once revoked, driving privileges will not be reinstated until 3 years after the date of revocation. This conviction may also incur a strike pursuant to the California Three Strikes Law.

If you have been accused of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney to vigorously represent you. At Wallin & Klarich, we have helped people accused of this crime for over 30 years. Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will be there when you call.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.