Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated In Riverside (PC 191.5)
California Penal Code 191.5(b) defines vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated – also known as DUI manslaughter – as the unlawful killing of a human being without malice aforethought. To convict you of this crime, the prosecution must prove that:
- You were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- You committed an unlawful act or an otherwise lawful act that might cause death
- You acted with ordinary negligence; AND
- Your negligent conduct caused the death of another
If you have been charged with vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated in Riverside after being involved in a fatal car accident, it is important to understand the implications of this crime. Our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 30 years of experience in successfully defending our clients facing vehicular manslaughter charges. We are happy to answer any questions you have about a DUI manslaughter charge.
Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated Punishment
Under California PC 191.5, the sentencing and punishment for DUI manslaughter depends on whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Below is a more detailed explanation of the levels of punishment for various categories of vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated.
- Misdemeanor vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is punishable by up to a year in county jail and can include a fine of up to $1,000
- Felony vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is punishable by 16 months, 2 or 4 years in county jail and can include a fine of up to $10,000
- Suspension of your driver’s license by the DMV. If you are convicted of this crime you will be facing the loss of your driving privilege for a minimum of one year. The duration of the suspension can be longer depending upon the facts of your case and your prior criminal history.
Defenses to Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated
Fortunately, your experienced Riverside DUI manslaughter lawyer from Wallin & Klarich can raise a number of defenses on your behalf. Your attorney can argue that:
- You were not under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Your actions were not negligent; OR
- That your actions were not the cause of the death.
In addition to the defenses listed above, your Riverside Wallin & Klarich lawyer can attempt to have incriminating evidence excluded from trial if it is found that the police failed to comply with procedural requirements. Each of these defenses can be raised depending upon the facts of your individual case. Be sure to contact a Riverside DUI manslaughter defense attorney at Wallin & Klarich to learn more.
Riverside Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated Attorney
The sentencing and punishment for vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated in Riverside can completely change your life. If you or someone you know has been accused of this offense, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will carefully review the facts and the law to give you the best representation possible. Wallin & Klarich has over 30 years of experience in defending our clients against DUI manslaughter charges. We will carefully review the evidence against you and help you win your case.
If you are facing prosecution for vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated in Riverside, call our skilled Riverside vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated attorneys today at 877-4-NO-JAIL or 877-466-5245. With offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Bernardino, Riverside and Ventura a Wallin & Klarich defense attorney is available wherever you happen to live.