The Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device (VC 23247)
March 28, 2019

On January 1, 2019, a new California law that requires anyone convicted of a DUI to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles or risk losing their driving privileges. If you refuse to install an IID on your car after a DUI conviction, your driver’s license could be suspended or revoked for one year or longer.

Under California Vehicle Code Section 23247, you must keep your IID installed in your vehicle for an amount of time that depends upon whether you have been convicted of DUI before:

First-time offenders are required to have the device installed for six months
Second DUI offenses have a one-year IID requirement
A third DUI requires an IID to be installed for two years
Any subsequent DUI requires three years of having an IID installed

You will be responsible for having the device installed and maintaining it. Therefore, you may be wondering how much installing an IID costs.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device? (IID)

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breath-testing machine installed in your vehicle that will prevent you from starting your car unless you blow into it and it detects that you are below the legal BAC limit of 0.08 percent. The IID will also randomly request breath samples in 15-45-minute intervals while driving.

Any time you fail a breath test or fail to provide a breath sample, it will be registered to the device’s log, which can then be provided to the court. Some even have camera equipment installed to record you when providing a breath sample. IIDs are also capable of detecting any attempt to disconnect it, log all times the engine has been stopped or started, and keep track of all breath test results.

What is the Cost of an IID?

In 2019, the estimated cost of having an IID is about $1,400 to $2,000 a year when factoring all potential costs and fees.

The typical cost of having a company install an IID is $75-$150. You will also pay a monthly rental fee for the IID, which costs about $2.75 per day. In addition, you may be required to pay any fees related to monthly maintenance or calibration for the device.

What if You Can’t Afford to Pay for an IID? (VC 23700)

If you cannot afford to pay all the costs of an IID, you may only be required to pay a portion of the costs under VC 23700.

Contact the DUI Defense Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich Today

If you or a loved one has been accused of DUI, it is important that you speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately. At Wallin & Klarich, our skilled DUI attorneys have more than 35 years of experience successfully defending clients facing DUI charges. Let us help you now.

With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, Los Angeles and San Diego, you can find an experienced Wallin & Klarich DUI defense attorney available near you no matter where you are located.

Call our office today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.