It was recently reported that Vincent Jackson, wide receiver for the San Diego Chargers football team, pled guilty to his second driving under the influence (DUI) offense. Jackson was pulled over and cited for DUI in January of this year. Jackson was sentenced to five years probation, four days in jail, a $2,408 fine, 10 days of community service, mandatory attendance in a MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) class, and involvement in the state’s multiple conviction program, which lasts at least 18 months.
Driving under the influence (DUI) charges are regulated under California Vehicle Code Section 23152. Driving under the influence is normally charged as a misdemeanor (though DUI can be charged as a felony if someone is injured in the crime). A second DUI conviction in 10 years results in an extremely harsh sentence. Very few misdemeanor convictions carry a mandatory jail sentence. While the minimum jail sentence is four days, some judges impose a harsher jail sentence, including 30, 60, and even 90 day jail sentences.
The aggressive Southern California criminal defense lawyers at Wallin & Klarich have been defending the rights of those facing criminal charges such as DUI for over 30 years. We know what it takes to ensure that you keep your driver’s license and may be able to get your DUI charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact Wallin & Klarich today to learn more about how we can help. Call (877) 466-5245 for more information. We will be there when you call.