Is It Illegal To Drive Without Insurance
When it comes to driving, having insurance is not just a matter of responsible behavior, but also a legal requirement. In the state of California, all drivers are required to have auto insurance in order to legally operate a vehicle. Failure to have insurance can result in serious penalties and consequences.
Choosing Wallin & Klarich to represent your case puts you in a better position to receive the best outcome for your case. We have over 40 years of experience in Southern California. Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL for your free consultation!
California Vehicle Codes – VC 16029
California Vehicle Code 16029 makes it illegal to drive without evidence of “financial responsibility.” While this typically relates to driving without insurance, there are other ways to show financial responsibility. These include auto insurance, DMV issued self-insurance certificate, proof of cash deposit of $35,000 with DMV, or a surety bond of $35,000 from a licensed business in California. Proof of one of these four examples must be in the car with you at all times while driving.
California Vehicle Code 16029 also lays out the consequences for driving without insurance. For a first offense, you will have to pay a minimum $100 fine. Additional offenses within 3 years thereafter will result in a $200-$500 fine. It’s important to note that there are other fees with each fine, and the total amount will be higher.
In addition to fines, if you are caught driving without insurance there can be a number of other consequences. These include impoundment of car by police, suspension of license and/or vehicle registration, and civil penalties such as being ordered to pay for property damages and injuries after a car accident.
If you are in need of a defense attorney for any driving-related offense, look no further. With over four decades of experience, our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have the experience you need. We offer exceptional service, experience, and affordable payment options to help you manage the cost of hiring a defense attorney. Call our office today for a free consultation!
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
In addition to having auto insurance, you must have at least the minimum required coverage. If you carry auto insurance, it is important to know the minimum amount of coverage the state of California requires. The minimum requirements are:
- $15,000 for death of a person
- $30,000 for death of 2+ persons
- $5,000 for property damage
However, there are some types of vehicles that are exempt from having to have proof of auto insurance in the vehicle. This includes trailer, off-highway vehicles, vehicles registered to the government at any level, special equipment vehicles, and vehicles with planned non-operation status.
How An Attorney Can Help
If you have received a citation for driving without insurance in California, it is advisable to consult with a knowledgeable traffic ticket attorney promptly. Your attorney can assist in demonstrating that you do indeed possess auto insurance, but may have simply been unable to provide proof of insurance at the time of the citation.
In the event that you obtain insurance subsequent to the incident and can present evidence of coverage to the judge or prosecutor, your attorney may be able to have the charges dismissed. By representing you in court, your attorney can handle the legal proceedings without requiring your physical presence, resolving your case efficiently.
Contact Wallin & Klarich Today
If you have been issued a citation for driving without auto insurance, you need an aggressive defense attorney to fight for your freedom. With 40+ years of experience, our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have helped thousands of clients win their cases or get their charges reduced to a lesser degree. We know the most effective defenses to argue on your behalf, and we will do everything in our power to help you achieve the best possible result in your case.
You may not be aware of all your options. Calling our office costs you nothing, but picking up the phone could be the difference between years in prison and years of freedom. Let our skilled attorneys examine your case to find the best way to avoid prison.Discover how our team can assist you. Contact us today, toll-free at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free consultation with a skilled defense attorney.