If you are arrested for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol in violation of Vehicle Code Section 23152 (a) or (b), and you have a prior DUI conviction, getting back your driving privileges can be a little more difficult.
Under current California law, anyone convicted of a second DUI within a 10-year time period, will very likely get their driver’s license suspended by the DMV for two years. This means that for two years, you cannot legally drive a motor vehicle for any reason.
It is possible to gain a restricted license for the remaining suspension period, which will allow you to drive a motor vehicle in California for limited purposes (i.e., work, school, DUI classes). However, this will not become available until after you have served one year of the two-year suspension. You will also be required to provide proof of auto insurance (SR-22 form), $125.00 for the re-issuance fee, and proof that you are enrolled in an 18-month DUI treatment program for multiple offenders (SB 38).
The DMV will often require that you have completed a substantial portion of the program before requesting a restricted license. Therefore, it is advisable that you enroll and begin attending a program as soon as you receive notice of your license suspension.
Losing your driving privileges in California is a debilitating consequence of a DUI arrest. Therefore, it is imperative that you seek the legal assistance of an experienced DUI defense attorney who can guide you through this DMV matter and also handle the criminal proceedings stemming from the arrest. Our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 30 years of experience in handling DUI matters and can help you achieve the best possible outcome in your case. Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245. We will get through this together.