In busy cities across America, ride-hailing services like Uber have become more popular than taxis. If you’re an Orange County resident, you may have considered driving for Uber as a way to earn some cash. It’s probably very easy to become an Uber driver, you may think. However, services such as Uber and Lyft require background checks before hiring new drivers. So, if you have a DUI on your record, will be able to drive for Uber?
Can You Drive for Uber if You Have a DUI?
Applying to be an Uber driver is simple. All you have to do is fill out a form on the company’s website. When you apply, a background check will be performed. In order to drive for Uber in most states, you must have a clean driving record. You will not qualify to drive for Uber if you were convicted of DUI or a drug-related offense within the past seven years. However, the terms are harsher in California. In order to drive for Uber in California, you must not been convicted of DUI within the last 10 years.
Additionally, Uber will not allow you to be a driver if you have any other blemishes on your record, including:
- Driving without insurance or a license
- You were involved in a fatal accident
- Reckless driving
- Any other criminal convictions
Can You Clean Your DUI from Your Record? (PC 1203.4)So, is there anything you can do to drive for Uber or find another job if you have been convicted of DUI or another crime? You could seek to have your conviction expunged from your criminal record under California Penal Code Section 1203.4.
If you successfully obtain an expungement, you will no longer have to disclose your conviction on job applications, which means potential employers cannot hold the conviction against you. You may be eligible for an expungement if you:
- Completed probation
- Paid all restitution and fines ordered by the court
- Finished all court programs, such as DUI school or MADD Victim Impact Panels; and
- Have no new convictions pending
It is important to note that expunging a DUI conviction from your record is only available to you if your conviction was a misdemeanor offense. An experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to help you clean a felony DUI from your record by first having the conviction reduced to a misdemeanor.
You should not attempt to apply for an expungement without the help of skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney.
Contact the DUI Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI, you need to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney right away. At Wallin & Klarich, our DUI attorneys have over 35 years of experience successfully defending our clients charged with DUI in California. Let us help you now.
With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, Los Angeles, West Covina, Torrance and San Diego, you can find an experienced Wallin & Klarich DUI attorney available to help you no matter where you are located.
Call us now at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.
how can I have my DUI conviction expunged from my criminal record under California Penal Code Section 1203.4.
Our law firm has more than 35 years of experience helping clients clean their criminal records. Please contact our law firm at (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation regarding your case and we’ll help you determine if you’re eligible for an expungement.
We look forward to your call.
I would like to have my DUI expunged from my record. Please contact me. Thank you
Our law firm has more than 35 years of experience helping clients clean their criminal records. Please contact our law firm at (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation regarding your case.
We look forward to your call.
I got some interesting Uber info for you. Can you be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor just for driving for Uber? Yup. See CVC 34600. It is a crime to carry a passenger for hire without a Motor Carrier Permit. If you drive for Uber and ever drive beyond a 100 mi. Radius between 2 points can you be charged with a misdemeanor? Yup. See CCR 1213 a. It is a crime to not maintain hours of service logs. Who is required to maintain a logbook? Answer: everyone who owns, leases ANY vehicle. See. The CCRs definition of motor carrier.
I had a dui I just got my cdl back but I want to get my dui removed so I can work for uber as well as driving a truck what should I do
Please contact our law firm at (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will discuss your options for cleaning your criminal record.
We look forward to speaking with you.