The standard punishment for a first time DUI can vary greatly from county to county and can even vary significantly between different courthouses within a single county. The vast majority of DUI cases filed in Riverside County are filed in the Southwest Court and downtown Riverside Court, and the punishments are imposed in those two courthouses for a “standard” first DUI. A standard first DUI means that there was no traffic collision and that you’re blood-alcohol level was below .15%. If there was a traffic collision or were above .15% then the punishments will be increased.
If you plead guilty to a standard first DUI in Riverside or Southwest courts, the typical punishment would include 3 years of informal/summary probation, which means unsupervised probation and no probation officer to report to. The fines and fees would add up to approximately $2,250 total, which can usually be paid at a rate of $50/month after paying an additional $50 administrative fee. You will be required to attend and complete a 16 week DUI course which also requires you to attend a number of Alcoholics Anonymous meetings. The court will notify the DMV of the conviction and you will suffer a six-month suspension of your license. Finally, you will be ordered to serve 6 days in county jail which can be completed as straight time behind bars, through the work release or Sheriff’s labor programs, or via house arrest. This is the standard punishment for a garden-variety, first-time DUI in Riverside. Pretty harsh. If you have priors DUI convictions, were involved in a collision, or had a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher the penalties get even worse.
If you have been accused of DUI in Riverside County, you will need an experienced Riverside DUI attorney to vigorously represent you. At Wallin & Klarich, we have helped people accused of this crime for over 30 years. Call us today at (888) 764-2615 or visit us at our website at www.wklawdui.com. We will be there when you call.
Use Facebook to Comment on this Post
How a DUI Conviction May Affect Your Current Job and Future Employment Opportunities – California Vehicle Code 23152
A conviction for driving under the influence has severe consequences. Not only can a DUI subject you to criminal penalties, but a conviction for drunk driving can drastically affect your lifestyle. It is critical that you speak with an experienced DUI attorney.
The majority of California workers rely on their personal transportation to get to work. A license suspension or other element of a DUI charge can put a current job in jeopardy or make looking for another job difficult. A DUI conviction can result in a suspended license, ignition interlock devices installed in your car, traffic school requirements, or other court orders that can delay the reinstatement of an individual’s license to drive. In addition, some types of employers have a policy of terminating employees for a single drunk driving offense. Some of these jobs include positions in local school districts or civil service jobs.
A person with a DUI may also have to report DUI convictions to future employers. Drunk driving convictions can create a stigma that discourages employers from considering an application. This liability may be greater in some types of industrial jobs where intoxication can be a serious issue, for example, in operating heavy machinery.
Statistics on Southern California drunk driving charges are staggering. Many thousands of residents in this area incur alcohol-related traffic violations and DUI convictions each year, and a high percentage of this community repeats the offense. With harsh penalties, and even harsher penalties for repeat offenders, it is important to consult an experienced Riverside DUI attorney. A DUI attorney will inform you of all of your options for minimizing the potential jail time or other severe penalties. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich are highly experienced in handling DUI cases and will analyze the facts of your case and explain to you your options in detail. Our attorneys will also actively engage with the court system for the best chance at a speedy reinstatement of the defendant’s driving privileges.
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge, you can rely on the skilled California DUI defense lawyers at Wallin & Klarich. In helping those accused of crimes for over 30 years, Wallin & Klarich can guide those arrested for DUI as they figure out exactly what pending charges represent, what their legal consequences are likely to be, and how to minimize the damage. Wallin & Klarich can provide opinions on limiting legal liability. They can also guide defendants through the precise restrictions around their DUI to get a license reinstated earlier through hearings in state and municipal courts. Our DUI lawyers will help you argue your case before a judge for the best possible result. For more information about how the attorneys at Wallin & Klarich can help you, please call 888-764-2615 or visit www.wklaw.com. We will be there when you call.
Use Facebook to Comment on this Post
At Wallin & Klarich, we approach every case with the belief that the person we're defending could easily be one of our own family members. We've seen firsthand how stressful legal matters can be for our clients and their loved ones. We are committed to being available to our clients at all times -- 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. If you or someone you love is facing drunk driving charges in Southern California, you should call Wallin & Klarich today for a free evaluation of your case. Call 1-888-764-2615 or fill out our online consultation form to get in contact with a legal professional today. We will be there when you call.