The Los Angeles Daily Journal Appellate Report recently reported that Benito Garcia’s driver’s license was properly suspended after he refused to submit to a chemical test following his arrest for drunk driving. Garcia had been driving erratically and was pulled over. Officers noticed a strong odor of alcohol on Garcia’s breath and other signs of intoxication and administered a field sobriety test, which he failed. The officers arrested Garcia and informed him that he was required by law to submit to either a blood or breath test to determine his blood alcohol level. Garcia refused and his license was suspended even though he eventually completed a test showing his blood alcohol level to be at 0.28. The court found that Garcia’s delayed submission to a chemical test did not allow him to avoid the consequences of his initial refusal and that his license was properly suspended.
Under California Vehicle Code Section 13353, if you are arrested for driving under the influence and refuse to submit to, or fail to complete, a chemical test you will be subject to a suspension of your license for a period of one year. It is important to note that consent to a chemical test that is not clear and unambiguous may be deemed a refusal as well.
If you have previously refused a chemical test following an arrest for drunk driving, or if you have been arrested for reckless driving, underage drinking, or driving under the influence, within the past ten years, you will lose your driving privileges for two years. However, if any of these arrests or violations has occurred twice within the past ten years, your license will be suspended for three years.
Losing your license is very serious, especially in California where driving a vehicle is one of the only modes of transportation. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence it is important that you retain our experienced legal representation immediately. The defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been handling DUI cases for more than 30 years. Our Southern California attorneys will conduct a thorough review of the details of your case, and will advocate on your behalf to get you the best possible outcome. Call Wallin & Klarich today at (888) 749-0034 and visit us on our website at www.wklaw.com to speak with one of our attorneys regarding your case. We will be here when you call.
Use Facebook to Comment on this Post
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
At Wallin & Klarich, we approach every case with the belief that the person we're defending could easily be one of our own family members. We've seen firsthand how stressful legal matters can be for our clients and their loved ones. We are committed to being available to our clients at all times -- 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. If you or someone you love is facing drunk driving charges in Southern California, you should call Wallin & Klarich today for a free evaluation of your case. Call 1-888-764-2615 or fill out our online consultation form to get in contact with a legal professional today. We will be there when you call.